Sikh, Sorrentino Headline USA South Tennis Awards

Sikh, Sorrentino Headline USA South Tennis Awards

Fayetteville, N.C. - The USA South has announced its 2017 postseason awards in tennis. Leading the way for N.C. Wesleyan was Sebastian Sikh as the men's Player of the Year and Florencia Sorrentino as an East Division First Team selection.

Sikh, a junior from Eskilstuna, Sweden, adds USA South Player of the Year to his career awards after being named Rookie of the Year in 2015. Playing nearly the entire season at the #1 singles position, Sikh has posted a 16-5 overall record with a 7-0 USA South mark en route to a #6 ranking in the Atlantic South Region. At the top doubles spot this season, Sikh has earned 13 overall victories with a 7-1 mark in league action. For his efforts, Sikh earned First Team All-Conference honors for the third consecutive year, as well as First Team East Division accolades.

Joining him as both an overall and East Division First Teamer was sophomore Ioannis Brokakis, last season's USA South Rookie of the Year. Brokakis has racked up 15 singles wins this season, primarly at the #2 seed, which included a perfect 8-0 record in USA South action. Additionally, he teamed with Sikh for 10 victories at top doubles.

Also named to the East Division's First Team was freshman David Appelqvist with 13-2 overall mark and 7-0 record in league play, primarily at the #4 position. Appelqvist added 14 doubles wins to his resume, including a 6-0 record with Honorable Mention teammate J.D. Telles. Telles, who garnered a second honor as the Bishops' representative on the USA South's All-Sportsmanship team, currently boasts a team-best 19 wins in singles action.

Rounding out the men's honorees as an Honorable Mention was junior David Chang, who combined for a 6-1 record in league play while recording several key victories versus ranked non-conference opponents.

On the women's side, Sorrentino improved on her Second Team honor last spring by garnering East Division First Team accolades this season. The junior from San Lorenzo, Argentina anchored top-seeded singles for the Bishops the entire season, tallying 10 wins and a 4-2 mark in conference play. Additionally, Sorrentino partnered with four different teammates to post a 6-1 doubles mark in USA South action.

The Bishops also had two players garner Second Team recognition in the form of freshman Nicole Halabi and junior Ana Diaz. The two combined to go 9-1 in conference play, primarily anchoring the #3 and #4 seeds, respectively.

Finally, for the second straight season, Stephany Barbera represented the Battling Bishops on the All-Sportsmanship team.

Elsewhere around the league, the women's division saw Averett University's Heidi Sarkkinen earn Player of the Year, LaGrange College's Jenna Eppes earn Rookie of the Year, and Methodist University's John Blackburn earn Coach of the Year. For the men, Averett's Lauri Soome was named Rookie of the Year, while Covenant College's John Hirte collected Coach of the Year honors.

To view the entire 2017 All-Conference teams in tennis, please visit