USA South Announces 2017 Postseason Football Accolades

USA South Announces 2017 Postseason Football Accolades

Fayetteville, N.C. - The USA South Athletic Conference has released its 2017 postseason awards in the sport of football, with seven Battling Bishops earning accolades on their respective All-Conference and All-Sportsmanship teams. All seven Wesleyan players are first-time honorees, led by a trio of First Team All-Conference selections.

A junior wide receiver, Trey Lancaster was a First Team pick after leading the Bishops and ranking in the league's top five in receptions (47), receiving yards (766), and touchdown catches (7). Joining him on the First Team were sophomore teammates Antonio Johnson at linebacker and Eddie Graham at defensive back. Johnson led Wesleyan with 95 tackles on the season, while his 10.6 tackles-per-game and 13.5 tackles-for-loss each ranked second in the conference standings. Graham turned in a stellar sophomore campaign that saw him lead the entire USA South with six interceptions, which also featured a 99-yard pick-6 that tied the longest scoring play in league history.

A trio of Bishops were also recognized on the Second Team, beginning with offensive linemen Breon Foust and Thomas McFadden. Sophomore defensive lineman Donnell Alexander joined them as a Second Teamer, while senior Cody Vaillancourt rounded out NCWC's honorees as a member of the league's All-Sportsmanship team.

Elsewhere around the conference, the Ferrum College duo of Brian Mann and Montel Lee were named Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, while the Huntingdon College pair of Linell Tarver and Mike Turk were named Defensive Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year. Maryville College's Elijah Hairston collected Offensive Rookie of the Year honors to wrap-up the individual awards.

To view the entire USA South All-Conference team in the sport of football, please visit