#17 Baseball Headed to Marietta, OH for NCAA Regional

#17 Baseball Headed to Marietta, OH for NCAA Regional

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 48 teams that will compete in the 2021 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. Six teams will compete at eight regional sites. All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Forty two conference champions qualified automatically.

The 17th ranked Battling Bishops (32-8) were selected as one of the six at-large bids to the NCAA Tournament and earned a #3 seed in the Marietta, OH regional that begins play this Thursday.

Regional Website: https://pioneers.marietta.edu/sports/21mideastregional

The Bishops will play the 4 seed St. John Fisher College (NY) (31-5) in the third game of the day beginning at 6 PM. The #23 Cardinals won their Empire 8 Conference by routing their opponent in the finals on Friday. The winner of the Wesleyan-St. John game will then face the winner of the #2 Marietta-#5 Rochester game at 6 PM on Friday. However, the loser will face the winner of #1 seed Rowan and #6 seed PSU-Behrend game at 2:30 PM on Friday.


This is Wesleyan's first NCAA tournament appearance since the 2009 team also qualified and the 32 wins are the most in a season since the '99 national championship team won 42. The Bishops lost their conference championship series in three games to LaGrange College last week at home. LaGrange is now headed to the High Point, NC regional as the #3 seed where they will face Lynchburg.

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the pool play double-elimination championship at Perfect Game Field at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.



Marietta, Ohio Region Hosted by Marietta College
1. Rowan, NJ (25-4)
2. Marietta (35-4)
3. North Carolina Wesleyan (32-8)
4. St. John Fisher College, NY (31-5)
5. Rochester, NY (24-8)
6. Penn State-Behrend (25-11)